The 7 Types of Dog Breeds


While every dog is unique and has its own personality, appearance, and preferences, it also falls under its breed category as designated by the American Kennel Club (AKC).

 Dog Breeds

Sporting Group

Dogs in the Sporting Group were bred to be a hunter’s best sidekick; their purpose is to assist with finding, flushing, catching, or retrieving feathered game such as pheasants or ducks. Human hunters rely on these canines' help with retrieving upland game birds or waterfowl.

Hounds were once considered part of the Sporting Group as well. In contrast to sports breeds, which are often used for pursuing warm-blooded prey such as rabbits, raccoons, or even antelope.

Hound Group

 like share save 

Toy Group are still canines in the same sense as their bigger relatives who are part of the other breed groups.

Toy Group

The Non-Sporting Group is a group for dogs who don't quite fit in anyplace else, and it contains a range of breeds with occupations that don't fulfill the standards of the other six categories.

Non-Sporting Group

The dogs that are part of the Working Group are distinguished from the dogs that are part of the Non-Sporting Group because the Working Group canines are tasked with particular responsibilities relating to protecting property or conducting rescues.

Working Group

The Herding Group is one of the AKC's older groups, having been established in 1983. This group is comprised of breeds that have what is perhaps the least complex job.

Herding Group

The great majority of the dogs that are classified as members of the Terrier Group originated in the British Isles. These dogs developed with specialized jobs as a result of the topography of their particular location.

Terrier Group

More Stories

Top 10 Bronzing Kits for Summer

Use the Fenty Shade Finder

This Year’s K-Beauty Trends